Skip to main content

DVD Collections

Find DVDs in the library collection by subject

List

DVD 565.00

Aesthetics: philosophy of the arts.

1 videodisc (51 min)

This program presents the ideas of key figures in the shaping and understanding of aesthetics-from Plato, Francis Hutcheson, and Kant to Leon Battista Alberti, Stendhal, and Tolstoy-and addresses pivotal writings, including Aristotle's Poetics and Morris Weitz's "The Role of Theory in Aesthetics." Columbia University's Arthur Danto and Princeton University's Alexander Nehamas offer keen insights into the interactions between artist, artwork, and audience as they have evolved.

DVD 621.00

American photography: a century of images

1 videodisc (160 min.)

The story of the pictures we have taken and where they have taken us.  The series traces the profound effect photographs have had on American life—influencing what we buy, how we dress, how we get the news, and in the matters of life and death, medicine, science, and  war.

DVD 617.00

Art 21: art in the twenty-first century. Seasons one and two

2 vidediscs 7 1/2 hrs.

Meet diverse contemporary artists through revealing profiles that take viewers behind the scenes into artists' studios, homes, and communities to provide an intimate view of their lives, work, sources of  inspiration and creative processes.

DVD 618.00

Art 21: art in the 21st century. Season three c2005.

1 videodisc. 220 min.

Go behind the scenes to meet today's most fascinating contemporary artists in Season Three of the Emmy-nominated ART:21--ART IN THE TWENTY-FIRST CENTURY documentary  series. Unparalled in access to today's young artists, this unique series takes viewers into artists' studios, homes, and communities to provide an intimate view of their lives, work, creative processes, and sources of inspiration. The four-hour programs present 18 artists working in the United States.

DVD 662.01-.03

Art of the Netherlands

3 videodiscs (2 hr., 30 min.) Closed captioned for the hearing impaired.

Chronicles the life, times, and work of true masters of the art world. Highlights important events in each artist's life through the views of leading authorities, art historians, and scholars.

DVD 696.00

Civilization. The complete series; a personal view by Kenneth Clark

4 videodiscs (ca. 670 min.)

The skin of our teeth -- The great thaw -- Romance and reality -- Man : the measure of all things –

The hero as artist -- Protest and communication -- Grandeur and obedience -- The light of experience

             -- The pursuit of happiness -- The smile of reason -- The worship of nature -- The fallacies of hope –

             Heroic materialism. Art historian Sir Kenneth Clark presents an epic examination of Western

            European culture, defining what he considers to be the crucial phases of its development. This lavish

            series was hailed as a masterpiece when it was broadcast in 1969.

DVD 196.00

Frank Lloyd Wright

1 videodisc (ca. 153 min.)

Uses interviews and archival footage to tell the story of the melodramatic life and stunning architecture of Frank Lloyd Wright.

 

DVD 663.01-.05

The great artists

5 videodiscs (ca. 350 min.)

Art historian Tim Marlow explores the lives and works of the greatest artists in history. Filming takes place throughout the world.

Contents: Disc 1. Vol. 1. Giotto Vol. 2. Leonado daVinci Disc 2. Vol. 3. Drurer Vol. 4. Michelangelo Vol. 5. Raphael  Disc 3. Vol. 6. Titian  Vol. 7. Bruegel Vol. 8. El Grec Disc 4. Vol. 9. Rubens Vol.10. Velazquez Vol. 11. Rembrandt Disc 5. Vol. 12. Vermeer Vol. 13. Turner Vol. 14. Van Gogh.

DVD 1020-1022
The history of Western art

3 videodiscs (ca. 180 min.) Closed-captioned for the hearing impaired.

This series presents a unique and masterly survey of the greatest achievements in the history of art from the medieval era to the post-impressionist world. This authoritative and thought-provoking series employs powerful graphic images to entertain and inform the student and the art lover. Spectacular landscapes set the backdrop for an encompassing look at great moments in art history.The programs focus on various artists highlighting the works of Giotto, Van Eyck, Michaelangelo, Raphael, Da Vinci and Holbein. Great works from Rembrandt, Rubens, Caravaggio and Bernini are also featured. The emphasis on pastoral themes emerges in the work of Hogarth, Gainsborough, Chardin and David. The Romantic movement features the works of Constable, Turner and Goya. Also featured is the revolutionary work of Cezanne, Seurat, Manet and Van Gogh.

DVD 564.00

How art made the world: how humans made art and art made us human

2 videodiscs (290 min.)

Reveals how the first big artistic discoveries were made and how they have cascaded down the centuries to define the look of the present day. Encompassing everything from cave paints to ceramics and pyramids to palaces, this film explores the global trend for unrealistic depictions of the human body; the secret powers of the feature film; how politicians manage to manipulate people so easily; visions of the afterlife; and why we use imagery at all.

DVD 664.01-.06

Impressionists

6 videodiscs (ca. 300 min.)

"This authoritative and entertaining new series tells the stories of the artists who have captivated and thrilled people around the world for generations. Chronicles the life, times and works of each featured artist and explores their stylistic trademarks ..."--Container.

DVD 634.00
Installation art  c2001.

1 videodisc (29 min.)

This program defines what has come to be known as installation art, while providing a number of examples that unite diverse elements such as architecture, sculpture, painting, video, music and performance. Tracey Emin, Richard Wilson and other contemporary British artists talk about their environmental and site-specific art in which they explore the dynamic tension between artwork and its setting.

DVD 629.00

An introduction to the Italian Renaissance

1 videodisc (29 min.)

A dramatized program of Giorgio Vasari's Lives of the artists, illustrating how each great master developed techniques by building upon the works of his predecessors.

DVD 622.00

The life and times of Frida Kahlo

1 videodisc (90 min.)

Frida Kahlo was more than a great painter: her life and art reflected the maelstrom of the revolution and culture that defined the first half of the twentieth century. This film combines Kahlo's artwork with photos, archival films and interviews.

DVD 623.00

The life of Leonardo da Vinci

2 videodiscs (270 min.)

Biography of the versatile Renaissance artist in the context of his times, describing some of his achievements in painting, architecture, engineering, sculpture, and science.

DVD  661.01-.08

Masterworks of Western art

8 videodiscs (60 min. each)

Reiner Moritz's Masterworks series offers an innovative approach to art appreciation. The ten-minute programs enable viewers to examine closely paintings from galleries around the world. The voice-over commentaries, written by leading art historians, appraise the unique character of the featured paintings, setting them in the context of the artists' work and life as a whole and the period and movement to which they belong.

DVD 628.00

Medieval manuscripts

1 videodisc (30 min.)

Shows how medieval manuscripts came into being, how illuminations were accomplished, and what materials were used. Also explains the combinations of artistic talent, religious devotion and intellectual integrity that enabled the artists and artisans of the monasteries to accomplish their work.

DVD 1480.00

Michelangelo Revealed

1 videodisc (60 min.)

Paints a stunning new picture of cautious religions expression, personal vendettas, careful cover-ups, and a most gifted artist desperately trying to reconcile his loyalty to the Church with his own personal belief about the road to salvation. Based upon new findings discovered while working on restorations of his works by art historian Antonio Forcellino.

DVD 477.01-.03

More treasures from American film archives, 1894-1931: 50 films

3 videodiscs (573 min.)

An anthology of films from American film archives. In addition to rare silent-era features, includes cartoons and animation, documentaries and newsreels, earliest American movies, pioneering sound and color experiments, serial episodes, trailers for lost films, advertisements, avant-garde shorts, ethnographic footage, films of ethnic communities, and other film types invented during the first four decades of the motion picture. Contains 50 films followed by six previews for lost features and serials. Also contains newly recorded musical scores and over 500 interactive screens about the films and music.

 

DVD 56.01

The movies begin: a treasury of early cinema, 1894-1914

5 videodiscs (414 min.)

The genesis of the motion picture medium is recreated in this collection of the cinema's formative works. More than crucial historical artifacts, these films reveal the foundation from which the styles and stories of the contemporary cinema would later arise.

DVD 631.00

Postmodernism

1 videodisc (29 min.)

This program looks at postmodernism as reflected in architecture and art. Using numerous examples drawn from the United States and Britain, this documentary seeks to define the movement through commentary by authors, architects and art critics. Looks at the contributions and influence of 20th century visionaries such as Robert Venturi, Andy Warhol, Jacques Derrida, and Kazuo Ishiguro to the development of postmodernism.

DVD 627.00

Surrealism

1 videodisc (29 min.)

Surrealism, a reaction against the rationalism that plunged Europe into the First World War, sought to reunite the conscious and subconscious minds in order to create a new view of reality. Incorporating archival clips, this film analyzes the history of the movement through the works of André Breton, Max Ernst, Man Ray, Salvador Dal?i, Ren?e Magritte, Luis Bu*nuel and Herbert Read. Also includes footage of modern surrealists Conroy Maddox and Jake Chapman.

DVD 838.00

Thomas Hart Benton

1 videodisc (86 min.)

Filmmaker Ken Burns traces the life and turbulent career of one of America's best known and least understood painters. A bittersweet portrait combining rare archival material, commentary by those close to him, and a collection of his stunning paintings.

DVD 1495.00

Through the lens: the incredible stories behind the best adventure photographs

1 videodisc (47 min.)

The photographs appear in National Geographic magazine. The stories involve photographers defying gravity, braving infernos, and enduring the most brutal conditions imaginable.

DVD 1043.00

Unlocking Da Vinci's code

1  videodisc (60 min.)

Uncover some of the greatest mysteries of our time in this stunning look at the works of the legendary Leonardo Da Vinci as popularized in the best-selling novel The Da Vinci Code.  Are there hidden messages within these masterpieces that shed new light on some religious beliefs?

DVD 633.00
Women artists: the other side of the picture

1 videodisc (54 min.)

Respected artists such as Doris McCarthy, Judy Chicago, Joyce Weiland (sic), and Jane Ash Poitras—in combination with curators, art historians, and The Guerilla Girls, the 'terrorists' of the art world--discuss the dearth of women's artwork in major galleries and examine the poignant social history of women in the fine arts--a story of suppression, marginalization, and omission. The effort of the National Museum of Women in the Arts to balance that one-sided picture of artistic achievement is spotlighted.

DVD 635.00

World of ideas: Maya Lin.  c2004

1 videodisc (54 min.)

One of the rare few who have managed to excel in both art and architecture, Maya Lin creates places of refuge and contemplation in highly public spaces. Constructed on an intimate human scale, they invite visitors to touch, feel, respond and reflect. In this program, the acclaimed sculptor and architect talks with Bill Moyers about a life and career that has been shaped by her Asian-American heritage and a profound respect and love for the natural environment.