"EBooks" refers to a printed book in electronic form. Our library licensed almost 30,000 eBooks on all subjects and placed links to them in the library catalog. EBooks records in our catalog all say "ONLINE" after the call number, and "electronic resource" in the title line. There may or may not be a corresponding print version of an eBook available in the library.
Access while on campus: Use an eBook by clicking "URL" on the catalog pages. At the eBook opening screen click the + signs to open the book chapters and subchapters, then click the links to view the pages. Printing or emailing parts (a few pages or a chapter) of an eBook is supported by tools on the right side of the screen.
Access while off campus: Students must log in to access eBooks. Write down the eBook title while in the catalog and open the database eBooks on EbscoHost here or on the library page that lists our eBook databases. Supply your MyLSCO userID/Password to login. Search for your eBook by its title.
Access limits: Because of copyright and licensing, only one person at a time can use an eBook from the EbscoHost database. Use it as long as you like, but when you close it, others can access the eBook. If an eBook is left unattended for 15 minutes, access goes away automatically. But you should be able to access it again soon.
EBooks at Lamar University: If you are searching in Lamar University's library catalog, some of their eBooks were bought and licensed for their campus only, so you cannot access those eBooks without actually being on their campus. All of the eBooks in LSC-O's library catalog are accessible to you as long as no one else is using it.
Other eBooks databases: More eBooks are available in databases that are collections of reference or text books. Our Web page called EBook and Reference Databases lists more databases that have online books. Most contain reference book articles.
What about downloading? So far the eBooks available from EbscoHost are not available for mobile devices such as Kindles, or IPads, but we are working on that situation. Some of our other databases do provide access via an App (for example, Stat!Ref, for nursing books) Instructions are in these databases, on their opening screens.
Fall/Spring Semesters
Monday-Thursday: 7:30 a.m. - 7 p.m.
Friday: 7:30 a.m. - 5 p.m.
Saturday: 9 a.m. - 1 p.m.
Sunday: Closed
Summer Semesters
Monday-Thursday: 7:30 a.m. - 5:30 p.m.
Friday: 7:30 a.m. - 12 p.m.
Saturday-Sunday: Closed
Intersessions/Mini-sessions
Monday-Thursday: 7:30 a.m. - 5:30 p.m
Friday: 7:30 a.m. - 5 p.m.
Saturday-Sunday: Closed