Skip to main content

Learning Frameworks: Library databases

Learn about the many helpful resources and services offered by your Library

LSCO Databases

Library databases provide all types of library materials such as eBooks, magazine and newspaper articles, scholarly journal articles and articles from encyclopedias and other reference books. The Library currently has around 100 databases listed the following four ways. Click the links below to view the database list pages. Read what each database has to offer, and view the tutorials to get familiar with the various databases. Off campus, supply NetID@my.lsco.edu login, when asked.

1) All-subject databases providing articles from magazines, scholarly journals and newspapers.

2) EBook and reference databases. Databases on this page showing a globe icon are from the free Web. 

3) Databases for specific subjects. Subjects such as business and technology, careers, current events, education, history, literature and literary criticism, nursing & allied health, sciences, social sciences, and Spanish language.

4) Databases A-Z by nameDatabases on this page showing a globe icon are from the free Web.

These four lists appear on the Library home page under "Find articles in library databases," the middle column, top half of the page.  

Learning Frameworks courses require students to do research on careers. We have prepared a LibGuide about Careers and Jobs  

What is a library database? --tutorial

The Information Cycle

Watch the video below to understand the difference between the type of information found in newspapers, magazines, journals, and books.

Generating search terms for topic searches

After selecting a database that is appropriate for your topic or information need, figure out the best search strategy for your chosen database. Always read the database descriptions and view any tutorials provided.

Searching

The following search strategies work in the Library Catalog and also in most of the databases:

Search for a topic by typing a word or short phrase in the search box.  Keep phrases short for best results. 

Two or more words in a string are searched as a phrase (no quotes needed), unless connector words and, or, not are used:

  • Insert and between terms to make all terms appear. Use of "and" between search terms narrows search results.
    • Example: cats and dogs     Result: Items where all (or both) terms appear in results 
  • Insert or between terms to make any of the terms appear. Using "or" expands the search. It works to use "or" between terms with similar meanings such as:
    • Example: cats or felines     Result: Items where any (or either) of the terms appear in results.
  • Insert not between terms to eliminate a term from search results.
    • Example: cats not dogs      Result: The term following not (dogs) does not appear in results. BUT you will lose results in which both terms appear, so be careful using "not."

 

LSCO Databases A - Z