The following databases contain eBooks.
Print Books
Our library uses the Library of Congress Classification System to order our books. When looking a book up in the catalog, the call number will look something like QR46 .M4683 1998, or RT82 .N874 2009.
Once you find a book in the catalog you'll need to write down the call number and shelving location to locate it on the shelf. Most library books are located in the Stacks, but they can also be located in other collection areas such as Reserves, Fun Reads, and New Books.
E-Books
Access to EBooks- EBook can be accessed through a variety of library databases, such as EBSCO eBooks, Stat!Ref, and ProQuest eBook Central. As with all library databases, students can gain access by logging into the database with their MyGator username and password.
Note about EBSCO ebooks: Once you open an EBSCO ebook, that book is considered 'in use'. While it is open in your browser, and remains 'in use' for an hour after you close the browser. Take care that you have finished using the title before closing the browser, as you will not be able to regain access for an hour after you close it.
Fast Facts for Patient Safety in Nursing by
Medication errors include failure to properly identify the patient, heavy workloads, staff shortages, noise and distractions, fatigue, sound alike drugs, misuse of abbreviations, an illegible prescriptions, inappropriate dosage and infusion rates, incorrect time, and poor communication during change of shift. Workload issues have been correlated with poor patient outcomes and the pandemic has certainly exacerbated the nursing and healthcare professional shortage. Unit II is focused on improving patient safety and decreasing adverse events. The third chapter focuses on ways to become a safe practitioner through education and competency development. The fourth chapter highlights several theories that can be used to promote quality of care and decrease adverse outcomes. The fifth chapter focuses on the significance of critical thinking in promoting patient outcomes and ways to develop and improve critical thinking and reasoning. Clinical judgement is an important skill and Tanner's Clinical Judgement Model has been widely used to help develop clinical judgement. The sixth chapter focuses on prioritization and delegation and ways to develop these skills in addition to scope of practice, intuition, and ethics. The seventh chapter focuses on leadership and emotional intelligence and the final chapter focuses on the issue from a holistic approach and includes cultural humility and artificial intelligence.
Nursing Leadership and Management for Patient Safety and Quality Care by
The underpinnings of this book are evidence-based practice, safety, quality, and effective nursing care. The book will assist students to understand a current perspective of nursing leadership and management theories, concepts, and principles. Evidence-based content is presented on topics relevant in today's ever-changing health-care environment, such as contemporary leadership and management theories, managing ethical and legal issues, leading and managing effectively in a culture of safety, improving and managing quality care, building and managing a sustainable workforce, leading change and managing conflict, creating and sustaining a healthy work environment, and managing resources.
Nursing Care Plans by
Presents a handbook that helps in the creation and customization of effective nursing care plans. Covering the most common medical-surgical nursing diagnoses and clinical problems, this guide features more than 200 care plans, each reflecting the latest evidence-based guidelines and national and international treatment protocols. It also features highlighted QSEN competencies and a clear differentiation of nursing and collaborative interventions. New to this edition are ICNP® diagnoses, care plans on LGBTQ health issues and on electrolytes and acid-base balance.
The Rebel Nurse Handbook by
This compilation of stories from more than 40 diverse nurse leaders, innovators, and entrepreneurs portrays the winding and demanding paths that every nurse has braved in order to improve themselves, their patients' care, and the healthcare of today. These Rebel Nurses push the boundaries of their profession by demanding a seat at the table of healthcare innovation, lobbying on Capitol Hill, expanding their horizons to fix the broken healthcare systems around the world, and valuing the humanity of the inevitable moments of life's end. The inspiring innovation and entrepreneurship of these nurse leaders range from the incorporation of informatics or design communities and the implementation of artificial intelligence, to the creation of New York's Silicon Valley or nationwide adolescent programs that focus on school shootings--consistently disrupting the status quo through implementing life-changing procedures and policies. Readers will be inspired to transform today's era of healthcare by improving communities, implementing proactive care, and enhancing the environment of health and healing through research and policy application.
The app supports the complete EBSCO eBooks experience, allowing you to discover eBooks in our library's collection, download them to your device, and begin reading immediately, all within the EBSCO eBooks app.
With the app, you can:
To Login into EBSCOhost
Click on the EBSCO App above.
Then under Select Resources, click on EbscoHost all Databases.
At the top right-hand corner, click on Sign IN.
Enter your MyGator email and Password.
From there you can save articles and books to your folder.