Speech Research: Find books

  Use the library online catalog to find books located in our library or eBooks, books available online. You will usually find videos in your search results, the ones that say "videorecording" or "motion picture" after their titles. Ignore videos for the speech assignment. EBooks can be opened from off-campus if you go to the eBook database called Ebooks on EbscoHost and log in with your netID@my.lsco.edu login, as you need to do for any library database. 

Catalog tips: 

1) The catalog is set to do a "Keyword" search by default, searching in all parts of the catalog for words or phrases.  

2) Type a topic keyword or short phrase in the search box.

• Two or more words are automatically searched as one phrase. (no quotes needed)  
• If you need more than one word or phrase, insert "and" (no quotes) between the terms. Using "and" between terms returns those items where both terms appear and narrows the search. 
• If you have two words that have the same or similar meanings and either word will be acceptable, insert "or" between the words. Using "or" returns those items with either search word or phrase appears and expands the search.  

3) Click "Search" to run the search.

If you have searched in our catalog and not found a book on your topic: 

• Think of a broader topic. We have many subject encyclopedias in our reference area. Regular books also have indexes to help locate a keyword in the book. For example, if "chocolate" is the topic, a broader topic is food, so look for an encyclopedia of food. Type food and encyclopedia and click search. You would find the Encyclopedia of Food and Culture plus some others. Go get the encyclopedia and look up your topic in a to z order. Most encyclopedias arrange their articles alphabetically, but checking the index helps if your a to z search fails. 
• Think of a related topic. If you are looking for a famous sports figure or other famous person, find an encyclopedia article about their sport (or whatever they are famous for). If you type "sports and encyclopedia" you would find the Encyclopedia of World Sport. Look up the sport. 
• If you are still not finding a book in the catalog, call or email us. Use the box to your right, or come in to see us at the library.
• If you find a reference book with information on your topic, copy the information using the copier, scanner, or your phone; then find the catalog record for the book to fill in the blanks on the Library Assignment. Remember to get the article author's name, usually at the end of the text of the article, the title of the article, the title of the book and edition, editor names, and publication information (city: publisher, year). MLA examples for reference book articles are on page 2 of our guide.

Fall/Spring Semesters
Monday-Thursday: 7:30 a.m. - 7 p.m.
Friday: 7:30 a.m. - 5 p.m.
Saturday: 9 a.m. - 1 p.m.
Sunday: Closed

Summer Semesters
Monday-Thursday: 7:30 a.m. - 5:30 p.m.
Friday: 7:30 a.m. - 12 p.m.
Saturday-Sunday: Closed

Intersessions/Mini-sessions
Monday-Thursday: 7:30 a.m. - 5:30 p.m 
Friday: 7:30 a.m. - 5 p.m.
Saturday-Sunday: Closed