Skip to main content

Careers and Jobs: Home

Career exploration, planning, and job-hunting strategies

Catalog Search for Careers

Search for career books by typing the phrase vocational guidance with a career word or phrase connected by AND. For example: vocational guidance and nursing.   

Note call number and the location (most will say Career Center) for each item. 

LSC-O Resources

  • LSC-O Advising and Counseling Career Center - a list of their career and placement services plus a list of freely available career and job resources on the Web.
  • Career Center in the Library - a collection of books and reference books for researching careers and job search strategies. The Career Center is on the first row of the Reference department on the Library's 2nd floor. Use our catalog search box below to find these resources.

Online Library Resources

Use these library resources to research your best career options for your personality and preferences, and to research careers, industries, and jobs.  If you are off campus, login with your netID@my.lsco.edu and password. 


 

Ferguson's Career Guidance Center

⇒Librarian's Pick for Career Projects!
Explore the fastest growing, highest paying, and most in-demand jobs. View the professional profiles of thousands of careers and discover: the job overview, the required education or liscensing, the salary range, and the employment outlook. Undecided about your career? Take a career assesment to see which occupations match your interests!


 

Vocational & Career Collection (EBSCO)

Designed to meet a wide variety of vocational and technical research needs, this collection provides full-text coverage for trade and industry-related periodicals. Use this database to research current issues in your industry or field. 

*EBSCO search tutorial


Career Center from Learning Express

Are you preparing for a professional exam? Are you curious about a particular
occupation or looking to improve your workplace skills? Choose the Career Center and
begin your path to a bright future.

Users must create a (free) login to access materials.


 

Job & Career Accelerator from Learning Express

Whether you’re looking to find a new job in your current field or pursue a career in an exciting new industry, Job & Career Accelerator™ has the powerful tools and expert guidance to help you through every step of the process.

*Users must create a (free) login to access materials.


 

Learning Express Library

LearningExpress Library features nearly 1,000 online tutorials, practice tests, and eBooks to help learners of all ages. It offers job search and workplace skills improvement, skill building in reading, writing, math, and basic science, career certification and licensure exam prep, college and grad school entrance test prep, GED® test prep, and more. 

*Users must create a (free) login to access materials.


 

 Credo Reference

This database has over 600 reference books covering a variety of subjects, including: the Occupational Outlook Handbook 2014-2015, The Essential Job Interview Handbook, and The Young Professional's Survival Guide.

On the Shelf