Skip to main content

DVD Collections

Find DVDs in the library collection by subject

List

DVD 1637.00

9/12 : from chaos to community

1 videodisc (56 min.)

In the wake of the September 11 attacks, New Yorkers from all walks of life felt compelled to overcome their sense of powerlessness by volunteering to help out in the recovery effort. They brought in supplies, set up relief stations, and for ten months fed and cared for the recovery workers. Many deep and unexpected--even unlikely--relationships developed out of this. Using cinéma vérité footage, interviews and archival photographs, the film follows several characters through a series of events reuniting them with each other after the closing of the site. Their stories present a portrait of the city within a city that was Ground Zero, and examine how an extremely diverse group of people transcended politics and culture in an effort to heal their city and themselves.

DVD 1661.00

Asylum: a history of the mental institution in America

1 videodisc (60 min.)

This classic, award-winning program brings to light the complex and controversial history of the mental institution in the U.S. through a detailed study of St. Elizabeth’s Hospital in Washington, D.C.

DVD 988.01-.03

The Biological mind

3 videodiscs (ca. 140 min.)

Contents: Seriously stressed (46 min.) -- Deeply depressed (46 min.) -- Acutely anxious (48 min.).

This three-part series combines case histories with expert commentary and 3-D animations to explore

the mind/body connection as it relates to these illnesses. It also provides an accessible corridor into

the complexities of psychological disorders.

DVD 955.00

Bipolar disorder: shifting mood swings

1 videodisc (ca. 24 min.)

Provides an in-depth look at bipolar disorder from a patient's view. Also includes insight into new

            treatment options.

DVD1543.00

The brain

1 videodisc (ca. 90 min.)

            "Using simple analogies, real-life case studies, and state-of-the art CGI, this special shows how the brain

            works, explains the frequent battle between instinct and reason, and unravels the mysteries of memory

and decision-making. It takes us inside the mind of a soldier under fire to see how decisions are made in

extreme situations, examines how an autistic person like Rain Man develops remarkable skills, and takes

on the age-old question of what makes one person good and another evil"--Container.

DVD 1649.00

Brain games

2 videodiscs (150 min.)

"[This] three-part series provides a fascinating window into the inner workings of the brain as never before. Through interactive experiments and tricks, [the programs] reveal how our brains create the illusion of a seamless reality. As these revealing experiments provide a unique view into our brains, the world's leading experts explain how and why these tests work." -- Container.

Bonus program: How to build a beating heart: "Scientists are using tissue engineering to harness the body's natural powers to grow skin, muscle, body parts and vital organs, even hearts." -- video.nationalgeographic.com

DVD 1657.00

Broken child  : case studies of child abuse

1 videodisc (61 min.)

A documentary exploring the effects of early childhood deprivation and abuse and their impact on emotional and cognitive development. Analyzes the socially destructive impact of children and young adults who have been victimized by early life trauma.

DVD 846.01-.05
Childhood development

5 videodiscs 125 min.

Contents: [1] Babies' minds: Piagetian and Kleinian perspectives (25 min.) -- [2] How we study children : observation and experimentation (25 min.) -- [3] Play and the social world : acquiring social intelligence (25 min -- [4] Developing language : learning to question, inform, and entertain (25 min.) -- [5] Windows on the mind : children's drawings (25 min.)

"Presents various research methods, theories, and concepts of developmental psychology to promote

            a deep  understanding of that critical period of development."--Container.

DVD 1253.00

Cry for help

1 videodisc (57 min.)

Contents: Hamilton, part 1 -- Stacy, part 1 -- Clarkstown, part 1 -- Wake up call -- Early intervention -Hamilton, part 2 -- Stacy, part 2 -- Clarkstown, part 2 -- Hamilton, part 3.

Takes a critical look at the issues surrounding teen depression and suicide. Takes an

            intimate look at the efforts of two high schools to identify adolescents at risk. It examines the

            difficult transition from high school to college through a first-person account.

DVD 1641.00

Death and dying

1 videodisc (29 min.)

Presents a comprehensive review of the issues and challenges faced by men and women ages 65 and over.

DVD 952.00

Deeply depressed.  c2006.

1 videodisc (46 min.)

"There is growing evidence that chronic depression is primarily a physical disease and should be

            treated like one. This program sheds much-needed light on vulnerability to depression, the subtle

            symptoms of the disease, and treatments involving psychotherapy and antidepressants such as

             SSRIs. Brain biochemistry and the serotonin transporter promoter gene are discussed as well, and

            stories of everyday people grappling with the illness express what it feels like  to be clinically

            depressed--and through treatment, the sensation of finding joy and balance seeping back into

            life."--Container.

 

DVD 1638.00

Drug actions

1 DVD (60 min.)

Explores current issues related to the use and abuse of different drugs. Discusses the different types of drug sources, taxonomy of drugs, identifying a drug and drug effects among other topics.

DVD 1631.00

Escaping the time trap : 4 strategies to find the time you need to do what you want

1 videodisc (60 min)

DVD 1077.00

Fatherhood

1 videodisc (DVD) (30 min.).

"This DVD examines the evolving role of the father. It illustrates how a father's approach can be

            different than a mother's and explains how this difference can play an important role in the healthy

            development of their children" --cover.

DVD 1279.00

Grace

1 videodisc (58 min.)

Combining excerpts from three earlier videos, this overview of 13 years in Alzheimer's patient,

            Grace Kirkland's life, including home care, and foster home care. The primary health care giver,

            Grace's husband, Glenn Kirkland, addresses the demands of the disease, both loss of cognitive and

            physical function, and the end stages which lead to Grace's death.

DVD 1280.00

Grace notes

1 videodisc (20 min) 

Contents: Beginning stage symptoms -- Stages of dementia: beginning, middle. Middle stage symptoms: language problems, functional problems wandering ; muddle stage caregiver strategies -- Stages of dementia: beginning, middle, late. Late stage symptoms and caregiving strategies.

DVD 1251.00

Happier women: 25 ways to reduce stress

1 videodisc (ca. 53 min.)

Now more than ever, career issues, family crises, and health problems can add up to an emotional overload. This collection of 25 video clips offers guidance, reassurance, and useful facts for busy women. With an average clip length of 90 seconds, the collection incorporates mini-case studies and commentary from experts--providing visual support for instructors and counselors who want to reach overworked, overscheduled learners.

Contents: Top 10 stress busters -- Hurried Woman Syndrome – Are you happy? -- Health and happiness – Path to true happiness -- Job promotions -- Tired of being tired? -- Burned out to fired up! -- Birthdays without pressure -- Postpartum depression -- Stress and diabetes -- Depressed at work -- Women and hair loss -- Eco-anxiety -- Clutter control -- Workout at work -- Care for caregivers -- Can friends make you fat? -- Is your commute killing you? -- Blood pressure: lower yours -- Moms: expect the unexpected -- Mistakes at the gym -- Quit smoking diet -- Extreme PMS – Causing your headache.

DVD 640.00

The idea makers: the women of Hull House

1 videodisc (18 min.)

            Looks at the history of Hull House, opened by Jane Addams in 1889 as a place where she, Julia

            Lathrop, and other activists could provide outreach services to the poor and uneducated people of

            the surrounding Chicago neighborhood. Examines how the reformers applied statistical analysis to

            real-world problems, particularly infant and maternal mortality, thereby paving the way for far-

            reaching social reform. Looks at the relationship between social statistics and their objectivity and

            social policy.

DVD 1658.00

Imagining Robert : my brother, madness, and survival

1 videodisc (60 min.)

This video is the story of the ongoing interactions of two brothers-Robert who has had a mental illness since the 1970s, and his primary caretaker, Jay, a novelist. Robert experienced his first episode of mental illness during his freshman year in college and has been hospitalized and rehospitalized more than fifty times. He has received various diagnoses, and been treated by numerous kinds of therapies. The video shows the relationship between the two brothers, including clips from old family movies and interviews with treatment staff.

DVD 1660.00

Kill or cure. Madness

1 videodisc (51 min.)

"This program follows the long, often grim road towards understanding and treating mental illness. Through testimonials, original manuscripts, photos, and extensive footage from medical archives, leading doctors and medical historians trace the history of asylums, the development of psychoanalysis, electroconvulsive therapy, and the rise of psychopharmacology. The program also details the once widespread use of phrenology, lobotomy, and lobotomy's ancient precursor, trepanning"--Container.

DVD 273.00

Kinsey

1 videodisc (ca. 90 min.)

Part of the PBS American Experience series. Through interviews with Alfred Kinsey's research assistants, his children, people who took his sex questionnaire, and historians, this documentary assesses Kinsey's remarkable achievements.

DVD 252.00

Killing us softly 3: advertising's image of women

1 videodisc (34 min.)

Discusses the manner in which women continue to be portrayed by advertising and the effects this

            has on their images of themselves.

DVD 918.00

The lobotomist

1  videodisc (60 min.)

Lobotomy was hailed by The New York Times as 'surgery of the soul', a groundbreaking medical

            procedure that promised hope to the most distressed mentally ill patients and their families. But

            what began as an operation of last resort was soon being performed at some fifty state asylums,

            often with devastating  results. Little more than a decade after his rise to fame, Walter Freeman, the

            neurologist who championed the procedure, was decried as a moral monster, and  lobotomy one of

            the most barbaric mistakes of modern medicine. Through interviews with Dr. Freeman's former

            patients and their families, his students, and medical historians, this program offers an

            unprecedented look at one of the darkest chapters in psychiatric  history.

DVD 659.01-.02

Mastering self-discipline Spine title: Using the 7 self-disciplines to produce.

2 videodisc (28 min. each)

DVD 1642.00

The older adult world

1 videodisc (27 min.)

With a rapidly growing older population, attention needs to be paid on the lives of older seniors. This        video focuses on what is known about the aging process, dispells common myths about growing older, and provides CNAs strategies to help older adults lead a healthy life.

 

 

DVD 1555.00

Operation emotional freedom: the answer

1 videodisc (78 min.)

Looks at the current state of health care for American combat veterans diagnosed with PTSD (post-    traumatic stress disorder). Includes interview with Gary Craig, founder of EFT (Emotional Freedom Techniques) to treat the disorder.

DVD 393.00

The Persuaders

1 videodisc (ca. 90 min.)

Examines the "persuasion industries" of advertising and public relations. Shows how marketers have

            developed new ways of integrating their message into the fabric of our lives. Explores how the             

            culture of marketing has come to shape the way Americans understand the world and themselves and

            how the techniques of the persuasion industries have migrated to politics.

DVD 1640.00

Portrait of abuse : an American epidemic

1 videodisc (45 min.)

Through interviews with actual victims and abusers, this film offers practical advice from survivors, doctors, nurses, shelter advocates, social workers and prosecutors.

DVD 951.00

Postpartum depression. c2006.

1 videodisc (22 min.)

This ABC News program seeks to understand postpartum depression within the Yates tragedy.  In

            addition, a panel of experts addresses the unfortunate lack of  communication between doctors and

            new mothers on the subject of postpartum depression, outlines the warning signs for such

            depression, and discusses treatment options.

DVD 654.00

Quest for the empowered self. Increasing your emotional intelligence Cover title: Increasing your emotional intelligence: controlling your emotions instead of them controlling you

1 videodisc (29 min.)

This program teaches methods for identifying, understanding, and processing emotions to cope with

            internal and external stressors. It provides tips for strengthening relationships and discusses

            techniques for raising emotional intelligence.

DVD 1263.00

Shock

1 videodisc (58 min.)

Presents the stories of a dozen people who underwent electroconvulsive therapy for treatment of

            severe depression and bipolar disorder, including former Massachusetts First Lady Kitty Dukakis.

            For years she battled severe depression with every medication and treatment available, but it wasn't

            until she tried ECT that she began getting her life back for good.

DVD 1662.00

Skin deep : understanding self-injury

1 videodisc (21 min.)

Each year nearly two million people hurt their own bodies with knives, scissors, glass, cigarettes, candles, and any destructive item they can get their hands on. In Skin Deep, patients and experts explain why people harm themselves and how they can recover from this secret affliction which affects as many people as anorexia. While the self-inflicted scars may be kept hidden, it's time to expose information about self-injury to reach young people, educators, and counselors who may have to deal with this emerging issue. In fact, someone you know could be suffering.

 

 

DVD1571.00 

Stress : portrait of a killer

1 videodisc (56 min.)

Stanford University neurobiologist, Robert Sapolsky, has been advancing our understanding of stress - how it impacts our bodies and how our social standing can make us more or less susceptible. Research reveals that the impact of stress can be found deep within us, shrinking our brains, adding fat to our bellies, even unraveling our chromosomes. Yet understanding how stress works can help us figure out a ways to combat it and how to live a life free of the tyranny of this contemporary plague.

DVD 1717.00

The tapping solution: the revolution starts within

1 videodisc (90 min.)

Meet ten people from around the country with a variety of challenges such as PSTD, chronic back pain, fear of public speaking, Fibromyalgia, abundance blocks, weight loss, smoking addiction, and more. Follow their journey as they learn Emotional Freedom Techniques (EFT). Then viewers will learn how to use these keys to changing their own lives. Learn how to release pain, how emotions affect the body, how to release trauma, how to clear limiting beliefs, and much more.

DVD 847.00

Teens: what makes them tick

1 videodisc (41 min.)

Looks at the mental and physical differences between teenagers and adults. Seeks scientific explanations for why teens act the way they do, sometimes even weird in adults' eyes.

DVD 956.00

Understanding mental illness and schizophrenia

1 videodisc (27 min.)

Although mental illnesses severely affect thoughts, moods, and coping abilities, a fulfilling life is

            still possible for people who face those challenges. Outlining the symptoms and possible causes of

            schizophrenia, clinical depression, and bipolar disorder, this program explores various treatment

            options and identifies ways that patients can achieve personal independence. Real-world success

            stories are featured, emphasizing the importance of support from family and friends, as well as the

            vital role that medication and therapy play. A detailed discussion of meds developed during the

            1990s sheds light on their improvements over previous drugs, as well as concerns about their side

            effects.

DVD 1650.00

What are dreams?

1 videodisc (55 min.)

"What are dreams and why do we have them? NOVA joins the leading dream researchers as they embark on a variety of neurological and psychological experiments to investigate the world of sleep and dreams. Delving deep into the thoughts and brains of a variety of dreamers, scientists are asking important questions about the purpose of this mysterious world we escape to at night."--Container.