Skip to main content

Sociology Research: Find Books

Finding information for research papers in LSC-O Sociology courses

Search for sociology books

Use our library catalog to search for sociology books on second floor.

Read these catalog search tips first:

  • Our search box automatically does a "Keyword" search in all parts of the catalog information.
    1. Type your keywords and click the "word or phrase" button or press the Enter key to search in all parts of the catalog information. 
    2. If you should need to find a certain author, book title, or subject heading, click the appropriate button for those types of searches.
  • Type a sociology topic keyword or short phrase in the search box.
    1. Two or more words are automatically searched as one phrase (quotes are not needed).  
    2. If you need more than one keyword or phrase, insert and between the terms. Using "and" between terms returns only those items where both terms appear and, in effect, narrows search results. 
    3. If you have two words that have the same or similar meanings and either word will do, insert or between the words. Using "or" between terms returns items in which either term appears and, in effect, expands search results. 
  • Library Location: Searches automatically look for items located in our (Ron E. Lewis) Library. Change to Lamar University's library by clicking the down arrow and highlighting "Mary & John Gray Library." 
  • Request a Lamar University book by completing an inter-library loan form. Allow 4-5 working days and pick it up at our check-out desk.

  •  

Sociology reference books on 2nd floor

Visit the Reference area on 2nd floor for these reference books sets (a selection of some that are available). Consult one of these encyclopedias for topic ideas and full background on a topic. Copy an article at the copier next to the elevator. (10c/page)

Citing: Look for the article author's name at the end of an article. If no author name shows there, start with the editor of the entire work which is found on the title page in the book. Include the volume used after the title of the encyclopedia. See the citation tab for more citing details.

  • Sociology Basics HM425.S63 2000 2 Vols.
  • Cultural Encyclopedia of the Body HM636.C85 2008, 2 vols.
  • Encyclopedia of Community: From the Village to the Virtual World HM756 .E53 2003  
  • Encyclopedia of American Social Movements HN57 E594 2004, 4 vols. 
  • International Encyclopedia of Marriage & Family HQ9 .E52 2003, 4 vols.
  • Encyclopedia of Homosexuality HQ76.25 1990, 2 vols.  
  • Encyclopedia of Children & Childhood HQ767.84 E53 2003, 3 vols.
  • Aging HQ1061 A424532 2000, 2 vols.
  • Encyclopedia of Gender & Society HQ1115 .E54 2009, 2 vols.

Ask at the help desk if you do not find anything useful.

Locating books on 2nd floor

Books are shelved in order by call numbers, which represent the main topic of a book. Social science topics are in the H call number section, with specific sociology topics beginning with HM. Major topics in sociology are broken down below. Under each of these two-letter call numbers are many narrower topics represented by a number. It should be noted that if a book is more focused on another topic, but only touches on a sociology topic, it could be shelved in another section, such as psychology (BF) or medicine (R). 

  • HM-Sociology (in general)
  • HN-Social history and conditions, social problems, social reform
  • HQ-Family, Marriage and Women's issues.
  • HS-Societies, secret, benevolent, etc.
  • HT-Communities, classes, races
  • HV-Social pathology, social and public welfare, criminology
  • HX-Socialism, Communism, anarchism

While using the catalog, click the "Details" button and look at the  "Item information" tab. Near the bottom of the tab, copy your specific call number and notice if the location says "Stacks." It can also indicate the item is currently checked out. If your book is an encyclopedia or dictionary it would give "Reference" as the location.

Head upstairs. The "Stacks" location is to your right at the top of the stairs. 

Ask a librarian for help at the help desk if you have trouble finding a book.