Skip to main content

Speech Research: Citing articles

How to find information for speeches and the library assignment.

Article from a magazine or newspaper

An article in a magazine or a newspaper follows this basic order: 

Author name/s. “Title of the Article.” Name of the Magazine or Newspaper Italicized.  day month year [or] month year [or] month-month year [depending upon the type of date given]: start page-end page. Print. [or if a database article] Database. Web. day month year of access. 

Examples:

A bi-monthly magazine article in a database: (a print version would simply end with the medium word Print.)

Marano, Ham Estroff. “The Scoop on Chocolate: Is Chocolate Really Healthy?” Psychology Today Mar-Apr 2011: 44-45. Academic Search Complete. Web. 26 July 2012.

A daily newspaper article in a database: 

Gillis, Justin. "Global Warming Makes Heat Waves More Likely, Study Finds." New York Times 11 July 2012: A10. Newspaper Source. Web. 1 Aug. 2012. [Note: Most newspapers have sections that are letters, which are given with the page number in citation information. If a newspaper's name starts with "The," omit "The"]

Article from a scholarly journal

An article from a scholarly journal: Follows the same pattern as magazines except that the volume and issue numbers are cited followed by the publication year. Put a period between the volume and issue numbers. Omit the words "volume" and "issue." Put the year in parentheses (year). Follow the year with a colon (:) and give the starting-ending page numbers. The example is from the database, Academic Search Complete.    

Smith, Mark A., et al. "Clinical Benefit and Preservation of Flavonols in Dark Chocolate Manufacturing." Nutrition Reviews 66.11 (2008): 630-41. Academic Search Complete. Web. 27 July 2012.

Article from an encyclopedia or other reference book

1. Author of the article: Check for authors of articles at the end of the article in an encyclopedia. Cite author last name, first name. Follow the same author rules as listed on the sub tab "Citing books." If the article does not have an author given, but does have an editor, give the editor's name in author position, followed by comma, ed. or eds. if more than one.

2. Title of article: Cite the title of the article inside of double quotes: "Title of the Article." Follow the same rules for capitalization of titles as listed on the sub tab "Citing books."

3. Title of the reference book: Cite the name of the encyclopedia or other reference book in italics. Cite the edition if not the first edition. If a multi-volume set, cite the volume used. If more than one volume was used, cite the total number of volumes in the set.

4. Editor of the reference book: If there is an editor in addition to the author, cite their name after the book title with Ed. in first name-last name order. Remember, Ed. means "edited by" when after the title.

5. Publication info: City: Publisher name, year. Use same publisher name rules as listed on the sub tab "Citing books."

6. Medium: Print. If from a database, at the end of the citation add this information: Database Name (italicized). Web. day-month-year of access. Same rules apply for month abbreviations in dates.

Examples:

Article from a print encyclopedia followed by same article from a database:

Allen, Anita L. "Privacy in Health Care." Encyclopedia of Bioethics. Ed. Stephen G. Post. 3rd ed. Vol. 4. New York: Macmillan-Thomson, 2004. Print.    (one volume was used)

Allen, Anita L. "Privacy in Health Care." Encyclopedia of Bioethics. Ed. Stephen G. Post. 3rd ed. New York: Macmillan-Thomson, 2004. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Web. 26 July, 2012.  (Databases often do not give volume numbers)

Another example: an article from a print encyclopedia:

Ziegler, Gregory R. “Chocolate.” Encyclopedia of Food and Culture. Vol. 1. Ed. Solomon H. Katz and William Woys Weaver. New York: Charles Scribner’s Sons, Thompson-Gale, 2003. Print.

Another example: an article from an online encyclopedia:

Chiras, Daniel D. "Global Climate Change." Encyclopedia Americana Online. Web. 1 Aug. 2012.

A chapter or essay from an essay collection or anthology

Many books are collections of essays on a single topic written by different authors. When a smaller part of a book is cited, (chapter, essay, short story, etc.) the citation is similar to the one above for an encyclopedia article, but the starting-ending page numbers are required after the year.

Here are two examples of books from the Opposing Viewpoints book series on popular issues. The first example is for a printed book from 1997, the second example is an online version of an essay from the same book but a later edition, which appears in the database Opposing Viewpoints in Context. The database incorporates all of the various issue books from this publisher. 

Watson, Robert T. "Global Warming Poses a Serious Threat." Global Warming: Opposing Viewpoints. Ed. Tamara L. Roleff, Scott Barbour and Karin L. Swisher. San Diego: Greenhaven, 1997: 17-22. Print.

Bova, Ben. "Global Warming Is Real." Global Warming: Opposing Viewpoints. Ed. Cynthia A. Bily. Detroit: Greenhaven, 2006: n.pag.  Opposing Viewpoints In Context. Web. 30 July 2012.

In the second example, page numbers were not given in the database, so "n.pag." for "no pagination," is put in place of the starting-ending page numbers. 

Just ASK!

Library Hours

Fall/Spring Semesters
Monday-Thursday: 7:30 a.m. - 8 p.m.
Friday: 7:30 a.m. - 5 p.m.
Saturday: 9 a.m. - 1 p.m.
Sunday: Closed

Summer Semesters
Monday-Thursday: 7:30 a.m. - 6 p.m.
Friday: 7:30 a.m. - 5 p.m.
Saturday-Sunday: Closed

Intersessions/Mini-sessions
Monday-Friday: 7:30 a.m. - 5 p.m 
Saturday-Sunday: Closed