Skip to main content

Speech Research: Citing Books and eBooks

How to find information for speeches and the library assignment.

Citing Books and eBooks

1. Author names: Begin all citations with author names if the author is known. Author names are cited in the same order as they are given in the source information. If you are using the library catalog record for source information, look on the "Title" line after the slash (/) for author and/or editor names. See examples below for details. 

First named author is cited as last name, first name. If there is a second or third author, their names are cited as first name, last name, with "and" (no quotes) inserted before the ending author's name. See examples below.

If there are more than three authors, cite the first author, a comma, et al. (latin for "and others"). If the source gives full names, cite full names. See fourth example below. 

Do not include titles, degrees, or affiliations that precede or follow names. If a name is followed by a "Jr." or a Roman numeral, it is considered part of the name and is included

  • One author: Jones, Sam B. 
  • Two authors: Jones, Sam B., and Frank Smith. 
  • Three authors: Jones, Sam B., Frank Smith, and John Allan, Jr.
  • More than three authors: Jones, Sam B., et al.
  • Editor names but no author names:  Jones, Sam B., ed. 
  • More than one editor: Jones, Sam B., Frank Smith and John Allan, Jr., eds.
  • Both an author and an editor: Cite the author first and then cite the title of the book. Cite the editor after the book title:  Jones, Sam B. Title of the Book. Ed. Frank Smith.  Note: Ed. (capital E) AFTER THE TITLE means "Edited by." It is not necessary to add an "s" to Ed. when two or more editors are cited after a title.  
  • Author is a corporate author (a group, committee, or organization): 
    American Medical Association.
  • Cite an organization that is part of a larger organization from largest to smallest:  
    United States. Dept. of Commerce. Census Bureau.
  • No author? If there is not an author or editor to cite, start with the next part, which is the title.

2. Book titles: Cite the main title and subtitle, separated by a colon (:) in italics. End with a period. MLA capitalization rules for titles are DIFFERENT from our cataloging rules, so capitalization changes are needed when using catalog information:

  • Capitalize all words at the start of titles and subtitles.
  • Other words are capitalized EXCEPT for these parts of speech: articles (a, an, the) conjunctions (and, but, for, or, nor, so, not, yet) and prepositions (as, against, between, in, of, to, on, over, out, under, and many others).

The Teaching of Spanish in English-Speaking Countries.

Women and Romance: A Reader.

3. Editions:  If there is a named edition, cite any edition higher than first edition after the title. (2nd ed., 3rd ed. etc.)

The Teaching of Spanish in English-Speaking Countries. 4th ed.

4. Volumes:  Cite multi-volume works such as an encyclopedia set as the title, followed by the volume used, if only one was used. If more than one volume was used, cite the total number of volumes in the set. Note volume capitalization differences. When using encyclopedias in databases, volumes numbers are not usually given. 

Encyclopedia of Food and Culture. Vol. 4.   (or)  Encyclopedia of Food and Culture. 4 vols.

5. Publication information: Cite city where published, first city only (omit the state or country), a colon (:) publisher name, a comma, and publication year. Omit the "c" before a year (stands for copyright). Do not include non-essential words in publisher names, such as House, Press, or Publisher. However, university presses are cited as UP without periods. For example, University of Texas Press becomes U of Texas P and Oxford University Press becomes Oxford UP.

New York: Wiley, 1994.   (or)   Chicago: U of Chicago P, 2003.    

 6. Medium:  The method of delivery, usually either Print or Web. When using the library catalog record to cite, if a book is physically available in print on the shelf, it is print. End the citation with "Print." (no quotes) EBook citations end with the eBook database name, such as EBooks on EbscoHost. Add the word, "Web." (no quotes) and give the date of access in day-month-year order. When citing dates, abbreviate all months as three letters except for Sept. (4 letters) May, June, and July are not abbreviated. 

Goldstein, Myrna Chandler, and Mark A. Goldstein. Healthy Foods: Fact Versus Fiction. Santa Barbara: Greenwood, 2010. Print.

Same example as above, but as an eBook, as listed in our catalog. All eBooks in the catalog are from the database  Ebooks on EbscoHost. 

Goldstein, Myrna Chandler, and Mark A. Goldstein. Healthy Foods: Fact Versus Fiction. Santa Barbara: Greenwood, 2010. EBooks on EbscoHost. Web. 30 July 2012.

Printed book with an editor. Book is a collecton of many essays by different authors:

Barbour, Scott, ed. Obesity. Farmington Hills: Greenhaven, 2011. Print. 

Essay from this same book that appears in the database Opposing Viewpoints in Context:

Kurnit, Paul. "Food Advertising Does Not Cause Obesity." Obesity. Ed. Scott Barbour. Farmington Hills: Greenhaven, 2011. Opposing Viewpoints in Context. Web. 30 July 2012.

Just ASK!

Library Hours

Fall/Spring Semesters
Monday-Thursday: 7:30 a.m. - 8 p.m.
Friday: 7:30 a.m. - 5 p.m.
Saturday: 9 a.m. - 1 p.m.
Sunday: Closed

Summer Semesters
Monday-Thursday: 7:30 a.m. - 6 p.m.
Friday: 7:30 a.m. - 5 p.m.
Saturday-Sunday: Closed

Intersessions/Mini-sessions
Monday-Friday: 7:30 a.m. - 5 p.m 
Saturday-Sunday: Closed