Skip to main content

Health and Wellness: Home

Resources for learning about health topics, nutrition, exercise, stress relief, etc. for everyone

Guide contents

  • Resources to research health and wellness topics in magazine articles and books, plus some really good Web sites you should know about.
  • Nursing students should use our Nursing LibGuide when more professional resources are needed.

Search for health & wellness magazine articles in databases

All of these databases provide articles from health magazines and journals. Use while off campus requires a login (myLSCO).

This tutorial Tutorial covers searching using the basic Ebsco search screen, which applies to all of these databases except the last one:

  • Health Source: Consumer Edition Health and wellness magazines for the general public
  • Alternative Health Watch Magazines and journals that cover alternative or complementary treatments and health practices (yoga, massage, acupuncture, chinese medicine, etc.)
  • Academic Search Complete Magazines and scholarly journals. Use the full-text limit.
  • MasterFILE Premier Has more magazines and less journals than Academic Search Complete. Use the full-text limit.
  • Credo Reference Tutorial Large collection of reference books, encyclopedias and dictionaries. Use advanced search and check the box that says "Search only within headings" to improve search results. 

Search for books and videos on health topics

Search by a health topic keyword in the catalog search box below. Use short phrases or search for two or more search terms connected by AND, OR, NOT. For example: tai chi and arthritis

Note the call number and location of books or videos. When finished use the browser back arrow to return to this guide.

Search by

Health & wellness Web sites

  • MedlinePlus Medical portal of health information by the National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health for the general public. Provides health pamphlets, news and newsletter articles from reputable health sources.
  • Nutrition.gov Nutritional information sponsored by the U.S.D.A.'s National Agricultural Library
  • Merck Manual Home Edition Handbook of diseases published by Merck, the pharmaceutical company, designed for Web users.
  • Drugs.com Drug information site giving descriptions, interactions, side effects, and drug news

Just ASK!

Library Hours

Fall/Spring Semesters
Monday-Thursday: 7:30 a.m. - 8 p.m.
Friday: 7:30 a.m. - 5 p.m.
Saturday: 9 a.m. - 1 p.m.
Sunday: Closed

Summer Semesters
Monday-Thursday: 7:30 a.m. - 6 p.m.
Friday: 7:30 a.m. - 5 p.m.
Saturday-Sunday: Closed

Intersessions/Mini-sessions
Monday-Friday: 7:30 a.m. - 5 p.m 
Saturday-Sunday: Closed